Banana split

2015

If someone asks to meet you “at the banana,” don’t worry about their state of mind. Some highly original street furniture—a banana bench, in fact—has been installed on Place Gérald-Godin, outside Mont-Royal metro station. The bench is two gigantic banana peels, spread apart as if thrown nonchalantly on the square. Designed and fabricated by DIX2, a young Montréal company, this big yellow bench has quickly became a favourite meeting point in the neighbourhood.

This installation has given the square a new Pop Art feel. But designing the banana bench represented quite a technical challenge. It had to have a structure that was easy to build but also had to replicate the organic shape of fruit and be strong enough to withstand the weather—and survive some creative use by pedestrians and skateboarders!

This playful design concept is a great example of unifying art. It was selected from numerous proposals made to the Société de développement de l’avenue du Mont-Royal (SDAMR). The finished work was immediately embraced by young and old, as either playground or rallying point.

Category
Tags

Banana split

2015

Si on vous donne rendez-vous « à la banane », ne pensez pas que votre interlocuteur délire ! Un mobilier urbain d’une grande originalité a élu domicile sur la place Gérald-Godin, à la sortie de la station de métro Mont-Royal. Constitué par deux bananes surdimensionnées et une pelure tout aussi gigantesque jetée nonchalamment sur la place, l’ensemble conçu et exécuté par la jeune entreprise montréalaise DIX2 est vite devenu un point d’attraction du quartier.

Donnant à la place un petit air de Pop Art, ces « bancs-nana » représentaient un défi technique de taille. En effet, il fallait inventer une structure simple à fabriquer, reproduisant la forme organique du fruit, et suffisamment solide pour résister aux intempéries et à l’usage parfois créatif qu’en font les passants ou les skaters en quête de sensations fortes !

Ce concept ludique, voire loufoque, mais rassembleur, choisi dans le cadre d’un appel à projets lancé par la Société de développement commerciale de l’avenue du Mont-Royal a immédiatement été adopté par les petits et les grands, comme aire de jeu ou point de ralliement.

Catégorie
Mots-clés